Skip to content

Friday Five: Sick & Tired

July 30, 2010

(photo source)

I’ve been doing a lot of contemplation lately. A LOT. I am fed up with a lot of things in my life right now. Don’t get me wrong. Not everything in life is horrible. But many things could and should change. Here are the five at the top of the list right now.

1. I am sick & tired of battling my weight. I’m not obese, but I’m not skinny. I’m heavier than I would like to be. And I’m sure my doctor would like me to be a few pounds lighter as well. I have been trying to lose some weight (20 lbs) for a very long time. I have no will power. NONE! I’m my own worst enemy, and it’s so frustrating. I know that if I just changed my image of myself, and accepted how I look, I would be much happier. But with my weight, I’m not one of those people who can always say “it is what it is.”

2. My attitude sucks. I work at two different libraries. My attitude at each one is completely different. I am a super nice, accomodating, helpful person at one library. At the other, I am run down, negative, pessimistic. I hate myself when I am there. I can’t change other people. I need to change myself. I need to block out the negativity, be more positive, and have a more optimistic outlook. I used to be like that. I need to be like that again.

3. I am a scrapbooker. I document life. I document events. I document the everyday things that happen around me. It’s fun. I love it. I don’t do it enough. I need to do it more. I need to make time every week to have some fun scrapbooking.

4. I’m not a good connector. I am too insulated in my own world. I lose touch with people easily. It is too easy to ignore an email, or not return a phone call, or not even make a phone call in the first place. I need to improve this part of myself. I need to make connections, and nurture those connections.

5. I need to get off my own back. All of this complaining isn’t healthy. Life is what it is. I need to remember that. I read a blog post today by Ali Edwards called Things Left Undone. Ali is a scrapbooker, an author, among many other things. She is a huge inspiration to me. She has such a great outlook on life. I strive to be more like her. Basically, her blog post is a reminder to herself to not worry about what didn’t get done. It reminds her to be happy about the reason why she didn’t get those things done. I need to remind myself of this more often.

Recently, I read that librarians are agents of change. There’s a lot of truth to that. I am an agent of change, and I need to change things in myself.

Here’s to a fresh start and positive changes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. msshelved permalink
    July 30, 2010 7:37 am

    One of the things I miss most about working in two libraries is that when things are not so great in one job, they’re usually decent in the other. Imagine if you only had the job where you feel crummy all of the time!

    Hope today is a better day. 🙂

    • stracarr permalink*
      July 31, 2010 12:26 pm

      That’s a really good point. It really is a good thing that I have two library jobs, and that one of them is super awesome! Thanks for helping me be optimistic!

  2. July 30, 2010 8:29 pm

    Hope you are able to make the changes you want and feel better about things. Hugs.

    • stracarr permalink*
      July 31, 2010 12:25 pm

      Thanks, Carrie. I hope this post will help put a fire under me and get me motivated to make changes I want to make.

Leave a Reply

