Skip to content

Friday Five: Leaving… (Updated)

July 9, 2010

In a recent Friday Five post, I posted photos of places I hoped to visit on my vacation. I just got back, and I was able to visit all of the places I mentioned in that previous post. Here are my own photos of places I wanted to see in the Northwest.

1. Seattle Public Library

This was the most unusual library I have ever seen. It’s a very modern building, in downtown Seattle. I should have taken more pictures of it.

2. Pike Place Market

This market is famous for the fishmongers that throw fish back and forth to each other. I was expecting more of an open air market. Although it wasn’t what I expected, it was still very cool.

3. Powell’s Books

Some of my colleagues were in Portland recently for the PLA conference. One said, “You must visit Powell’s.” She was right, and I’m so glad I listened to her. This place was unbelievable, and now my favorite bookstore ever.

4. Astoria, OR

This house is famous for being the one that the Goonies were trying to save in the 80s classic movie. The owner lets people take pictures of it, as long as you walk up the street. It was fun to see the house from one of my favorite 80s movies.

5. Lombard St.

The last time I was in San Francisco, I was the only person out of the group I was with who didn’t drive down  the most crooked street. So, this time, it was decided that I had to drive down Lombard. I was panicked! I don’t know why, because it was easier than I thought. Actually, driving it turned out to be a lot of fun.

And there were some highlights from my summer vacation. What are your summer plans?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

