Skip to content

Friday Five: Blog Improvement Project

February 5, 2010

My Friday Five for this week is ambitious. I’ve been wanting to redesign my blog for a long time. When looking at redesign options, I stumbled across The 2010 Blog Improvement Project. The first week of the project has just begun, and we are supposed to write a blog to-do list of what we’d like to accomplish on our blog.

Here are five areas that I want to concentrate on during the project.

1. Blog Design/Appearance

  • Get a blog header that expresses what the blog is about.
  • Create a sidebar that is pleasing to both me and my readers.
  • Create a background that is not distracting, but visually appealing.

2. Quality of Posts

  • More frequent posts
  • Regular weekly Friday Five posts
  • Combine photos and words in posts

3. Ease of Subscribing

  • Add an RSS feed for posts

4. Social Media Integration

  • Add a Twitter/Digg/Share This link so readers can share posts.

5. Comment Friendliness

  • Ask questions at end of each post to engage readers in conversations.

That’s my list of things to do on the blog. It’s a big one, but I think I can handle it.

One Comment leave one →
  1. farmlanebooks permalink
    February 12, 2010 4:29 pm

    Thank you for signing up for the blog improvement project!

    You have a nice list of manageable tasks there. I hope that you are able to tick them off the list soon. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

