Skip to content

Variety is the Spice of the Library

February 24, 2009

There was a lot of variety in the reference questions  last night. First, I had an IM reference question. A patron wanted to put The Godfather by Mario Puzo and the Slumdog Millionaire soundtrack on hold. It was the first hold I placed for something that wasn’t available, so I learned something new.

A patron asked about books or journal articles having to do with the effects of drug use on teeth. I found two articles for her, and steered her in the direction of the books, so she could browse and find what she needed.

Then a patron wanted to know what the title of a book was by the first American to climb Mount Everest. The answer: A Life on the Edge by Jim Whittaker. Note to self: Whittaker is spelled with two t’s, not one. It makes finding an item in the catalog much easier if you know the correct spelling.

And then I helped a patron put money on a new copy card. I spent an hour or so on the reference desk before attending a class on Facebook that my site supervisor was holding. It was a very good class and an excellent example for me in planning my Flickr class.

Today, I will be doing more class planning, and also try to get more photos on the Flickr site.

I really love the variety of the reference desk questions we get. At VAPL, where I work the reference desk one weekend per month, it’s more repetitive, and the same type of questions are asked over and over again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2009 9:45 am

    I love this glimpse into your learning! I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on blogging this process.

  2. Kris permalink
    February 24, 2009 11:33 am

    Excellent work Carrie. I liked that you were proactive in the Facebook class last night. I saw you speaking with a woman in the back who was asking questions. You also took the initiative to answer a question about copying and pasting to the Notes section of Facebook at the end of the class. Nicely done.

    John and Judy both have wonderful things to say about your work at the Reference Desk. You are definitely an asset on Monday nights.

Leave a Reply

