Skip to content

Crazy night!

February 3, 2009

I was on the reference desk last night, and it was busy! I had a couple of firsts last night. I did my first interlibrary loan request, and also pulled some books off the shelf for a patron and put them on hold. I also had two reference questions via IM, so that was exciting. There were a lot of questions about textbooks last night, since the semester has just begun.

There was a man who called to ask about the ice storm that had hit Kentucky. He had friends on their way to visit, and he was concerned that they were still without power. I looked everywhere for information on the power outages. I looked at the Weather Channel website, the State of Kentucky website, and finally another librarian suggested the town’s website. Voila! There was the answer, right on the front page. So I called the patron back to let him know that his friends’ hometown had power again. He was happy to hear the news, and I was happy to that I was able to find the answer for him.

All in all, it was a good night.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2009 10:31 am

    This is a great example of all the things a ref lib will do at the desk! Nice post!

  2. Kris permalink
    February 8, 2009 7:53 pm

    What a great night. My favorite part of working the reference desk is hunting down an answer – like the weather question. I’m glad John and Judy are finding things to keep you busy.

Leave a Reply

