Skip to content

Decisions to Make

January 30, 2009

Today I received more photos to scan. I have been able to identify the details of some of them, and I’ll have to do some investigating on others.

We now have a pro account, so I will be able to have unlimited storage, and unlimited photo sets. Here is a question I’m dealing with today. Is it OK to put photos into more than one set, or should photos only be put in one set? I am thinking that it’s OK to have photos in more than one set.

I think I’ll do some research and see what other Flickr users do. Ah-Ha! I looked at Skokie Public Library’s Flickr account and discovered that they use collections. I don’t know why that didn’t occur to me before. And I think using collections answers my questions about more than one photo in a set. Maybe.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2009 5:08 pm

    I don’t see anything wrong with putting photos in multiple sets. I think it’s appropriate to do whatever you can to get your images in front of as many eyes as possible. Just as items in the collection have multiple subject headings, it’s only fair that photos be classified in more than one grouping.

    Provided the images are appropriate to the set, of course. But I’m sure you’ve got that well in hand. 🙂

    Toby Greenwalt
    Virtual Services Coordinator, Skokie Public Library

  2. Kris permalink
    February 8, 2009 7:50 pm

    Carrie, thanks for looking into what other libraries are doing. There’s no point reinventing the wheel. I agree with Toby. We definitely want people to see the photos and they if they belong to different sets, then go ahead.

    I can’t wait to see what you’ve accomplished.

Leave a Reply

