Skip to content

Social Networking = Fun!

October 21, 2008

I know..I’m a few days late with this post. Sorry, Michael. My classmates have been talking about LinkedIn, MySpace, and Faceboook as social networking sites. And yes, these are the big social networking sites. But I also consider sites like LibraryThing and delicious to be social networking sites, too. For me, they have been more about social networking than the typical ones. OK, so I have “friended” a few people on LibraryThing, and that’s about it. I’ve gotten comments from one or two of them about the books in my library. I don’t even know if “friending” people in delicious is an option. While I haven’t been doing the typical networking, what I’ve gotten out of the networks on those sites are huge. I’ve used LibraryThing for work projects and discovered books I never would have known about otherwise. I’ve discovered all kinds of cool websites and blogs because of delicious.

And I almost forgot to mention Flickr! LOVE Flickr! As all of you know by now, I am into scrapbooking. Flickr allows me to join groups geared toward scrapbooking. How awesome is that?!? I can see other people’s page ideas, and get ideas of my own!

I finally joined the world in Facebook during the last class weekend. So far, I’ve enjoyed it. I’ve connected with people that I never even thought were on Facebook. And I’ve also connected with people that kept bugging me about it. 🙂 I think it will bring me even closer to some people. And it’s given me the chance to say to employers, “Yes, I’m on Facebook. I can help the library connect with our users in the virtual world.” That is invaluable.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Frank permalink
    October 21, 2008 1:52 pm

    Linkedin was included into the About.com Top 10 employment site list…linkedin is still the only social network on the list though…..the newest 3 on the list are-

    http://www.linkedin.com (professional networking)
    http://www.indeed.com (aggregated listings)
    http://www.realmatch.com (matches you to the perfect job)

    Complete top 10 job site list here:
    http://jobsearch.about.com/od/joblistings/tp/jobbanks.htm

Leave a Reply

