Skip to content

What I’ve Learned…

April 13, 2008

It goes without saying that I’ve learned a TON in LIS 753! The first weekend in class we covered web site usability, blogging, and played around in our “sandbox” to develop our HTML skills. 

The next class weekend was 9 weeks after the first. During the time we weren’t in class, we wrote blog posts about anything pertaining to the library world. We also wrote a web 2.0 tool review, and a web site review. Reading my classmates’ blog posts taught me a lot about different social networking tools that are out there. Now I’ve become both a del.icio.us user, and a Flickr user. I never, ever thought I would use tools like these. I have quickly become addicted to del.icio.us. I only have one photo posted on Flickr, but it’s got to start somewhere.  

Here is a link to the website I created throughout the last two weekends of class: Vernon Area Public Library. It’s a website that I’ve created for the library where I work. I can’t believe that I created a website! Sure, it’s pretty simplistic, but it’s my first one, so it’s not going to be the best in the world. But it did turn out better than I anticipated, and maybe my colleagues at Vernon will see it and like what I’ve done. During our second weekend, I was so frustrated that I couldn’t get the coding right. But after reviewing lots of HTML books, I finally figured it out.

What else do I have to learn? Well, a lot! The first thing I need to learn is how to upload avatars to my Flickr and WordPress accounts. For some reason, I can’t figure it out! Can anyone out there help me? I originally thought that I would let the blog go after this class is over. But now I am thinking that it’s a good place to put my thoughts about other things I’m learning in my classes. And if I’m going to take the next class (LIS 768), I’m sure that blogging will be a big part of it.

LIS 753 was one of the best classes I’ve taken at Dominican. I plan on staying in public libraries, and things I’ve learned in this class will be very beneficial in my career.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jgmccarn permalink
    April 13, 2008 10:31 am

    Oops! The link didn’t connect. 😥

  2. Anthony Molaro permalink
    April 13, 2008 12:36 pm

    The side bar rocks!!! Great job. Looks good in IE.

  3. Teresa Gerardi permalink
    April 13, 2008 1:36 pm

    I also love the sidebar…great ideas

Leave a Reply

